Certificate of Still Birth Law

News

view:  full / summary

Assm Ways & Means Vote

Posted by Paige on June 13, 2011 at 7:50 PM Comments comments (0)
The bill is on the Ways & Means committee agenda for Tuesday, June 14th.

This means it will be discussed and have a vote. We have never gotten this far.

Send your email NOW to Ways & Means Chair, Assembly member Herman Farrell and ask him to "allow a committee vote on Assembly Bill A.8178a - Certificate of Still Birth".

Send a Email !

Posted by Paige on June 8, 2011 at 1:45 PM Comments comments (1)

This is it! The bill is now in the Assembly Ways & Means Committee. This is the time where we need EVERYONE to send the below email. Forward it to everyone, everywhere.

This is our one shot. Session ends on June 20th - in 13 days!

----------------------------------------------------------

COPY & PASTE the below message to the Assembly Ways & Means Committee:

SEND TO:

AubryJ@assembly.state.ny.us, BarclaW@assembly.state.ny.us, BoyleP@assembly.state.ny.us, burlind@assembly.state.ny.us, CahillK@assembly.state.ny.us, CalhouN@assembly.state.ny.us, ColtonW@assembly.state.ny.us, CookV@assembly.state.ny.us, CrouchC@assembly.state.ny.us, CusickM@assembly.state.ny.us, FarrelH@assembly.state.ny.us, FitzpatrickM@assembly.state.ny.us, GanttD@assembly.state.ny.us, GlickD@assembly.state.ny.us, HawleyS@assembly.state.ny.us, HayesJ@assembly.state.ny.us, HoytS@assembly.state.ny.us, JacobsR@assembly.state.ny.us, JordanJ@assembly.state.ny.us, LentolJ@assembly.state.ny.us, McEnenJ@assembly.state.ny.us, MolinaroM@assembly.state.ny.us, morellej@assembly.state.ny.us, NolanC@assembly.state.ny.us, OrtizF@assembly.state.ny.us, PerryN@assembly.state.ny.us, PretloJ@assembly.state.ny.us, ScarboW@assembly.state.ny.us, SchimmR@assembly.state.ny.us, SpanoM@assembly.state.ny.us, ThieleF@assembly.state.ny.us, TobaccoL@assembly.state.ny.us, WrightK@assembly.state.ny.us, weinsteinh@assembly.state.ny.us, speaker@assembly.state.ny.us

SUBJECT: A.8178 SUPPORT


MESSAGE:


Dear Honorable Assembly members,


Understanding the busy nature of your schedule, I will be brief. Bill # A8178 will provide Certificates of Still Birth to help families who have experienced this tragedy. Stillbirth is a public health crisis. Every year over 1,700 stillbirths occur in New York State and 25,000 nationwide. The number of reported deaths from stillbirth nearly equals that of all infant deaths combined.


This legislation was first introduced in 2003. In 2007, great care was taken to redraft the bill to support women's rights. The bill pertains only to unintentional fetal demise after 20 weeks gestation and the certificate will be printed with the words “this is not proof of live birth”. Just recently, the bill was redrafted again to reflect a change of title. With that we successfully gained the support of Family Planning Advocates, a group that was previously strongly opposed to this legislation.


As New York State already recognizes a fetal death as both a birth and a death, this bill does not seek changes to any current legislation.


By passing this legislation, you have the opportunity to increase awareness of this issue and the opportunity to have a positive effect on New York families.


Please vote in support of A.8178 - Certificate of Still Birth.

NAME - ADDRESS - PHONE

New Bill. New Sponsor.

Posted by Paige on June 5, 2011 at 12:10 AM Comments comments (0)
Your efforts are paying off! They realized we will not go quietly! Recent meetings and discussions resurfaced the topic of our bill name.

After much consideration and acknowledging that we have all been working so hard for five years; we agreed to changed our bill to a "Certificate of Still Birth".

NYS currently issues a "Certificate of Live Birth" so a "Certificate of Still Birth" made logical sense. It is still a birth certificate; one that reflects on the stillness of it.

Bill #A.8178 under Assm Sandy Galef has been reintroduced. With 84 sponsors and continued support of the Senate, we feel extremely positive about the direction our bill has taken.
Will keep you posted!

Assembly Halts Democratic Process

Posted by Paige on May 23, 2011 at 4:44 PM Comments comments (0)

Just (3) phone calls.

We are focusing on just (3) Assembly members until the end of session: Silver, Farrell and Canestrari. Call, email or fax them. Reach out to them. Tell them you want a vote to happen on bill A.3453.

Please call:

  • Herman Farrell - Ways and Mean Committee Chair 518-455-5491
  • Ron Canestrari - Majority Leader at 518-455-4474
  • Sheldon Silver - Speaker 518-455-3791

Please make the call today, tomorrow, after that everyday until 6/20/2011.

http://assembly.state.ny.us/mem/Sheldon-Silver/contact/

http://assembly.state.ny.us/mem/Ron-Canestrari/contact/

http://assembly.state.ny.us/mem/Herman-D-Farrell-Jr/contact/

Bill Passed Senate

Posted by Paige on May 17, 2011 at 3:14 PM Comments comments (2)

Our bill passed the Full Senate house 59 to 3 on May 16th.

This is GREAT news for us. Now 100% of our focus needs to be on the Assembly.  Session ends on June 20, 2011 so time is running out.

 

We will have information soon on contacting the (1) assemblymember who is stalling our bill....and it isn't who you think.

 

Do you live in this County?

Posted by Paige on May 12, 2011 at 11:13 AM Comments comments (0)
The counties listed below represent Assembly members who don't believe that giving a parent a Certificate of Birth Resulting in Stillbirth is important. They haven't signed on as a co- or multi-sponsor - even though (73) of their peers have. Many won't even tell parents, in their own districts (!), if they support the bill.

 

So, in honor of the recent Mother's Day...

In honor of all the DAD's out there who have loved and lost a stillborn child.....

 

Send the below email to an Assembly member(s) in one of those counties:

 

Message:

 

Today in New York State....Four babies will be stillborn.

Tomorrow there will be four more.

1700 stillbirths by the end of the year.

Every day, moms and dads endure the greatest tragedy a parent can face - the death of a child.

As an elected official, you can help greiving families by supporting A.3453 - Certificate of Birth Resulting in Stillbirth bill (Gabryszak). An optional certificate that supports parents during their darkest hours.

 

Name / Address / Phone

 

 

Undecided Assembly Members:

 

 

Bronx County

Carmen Arroyo - ArroyoC@assembly.state.ny.us

Carl Heastie  - HeastieC@assembly.state.ny.us

Jose Rivera  - RiveraJ@assembly.state.ny.us

Naomi Rivera  - RiveraN@assembly.state.ny.us

Peter Rivera -  RiveraP@assembly.state.ny.us

Eric Stevenson  - stevensone@assembly.state.ny.us

 

 

Broome County

Donna Lupardo  - LupardoD@assembly.state.ny.us

 

 

Chautauqua County

Andy Goodnell  -  goodella@assembly.state.ny.us

 

 

Chemung County

Christopher Friend -  friendc@assembly.state.ny.us

 

 

Cortland County

Barbara Lifton  - LiftonB@assembly.state.ny.us

 

 

Dutchess County

Steve Katz  - katzs@assembly.state.ny.us

Thomas Kirwan  - kirwant@assembly.state.ny.us

 

 

Erie County

Crystal Peoples-Stokes  - PeopleC@assembly.state.ny.us

Robin Schimminger (Mr.)  - SchimmR@assembly.state.ny.us

Kevin Smardz  - smardzk@assembly.state.ny.us

 

 

Jefferson County

Ken Blankenbush -  blankenbushk@assembly.state.ny.us

Addie Russell  - RussellA@assembly.state.ny.us

 

 

Kings County (Brooklyn)

James Brennan  - BrennaJ@assembly.state.ny.us

Vito Lopez  - LopezV@assembly.state.ny.us

Alan Maisel  - MaiselA@assembly.state.ny.us

 

 

Lewis County

Ken Blankenbush  - blankenbushk@assembly.state.ny.us

 

 

Livingston County

Sean Hanna  - hannas@assembly.state.ny.us

 

 

Monroe County

Harry Bronson  - bronsonh@assembly.state.ny.us

David Gantt  - GanttD@assembly.state.ny.us

Sean Hanna  - hannas@assembly.state.ny.us

Joseph Morelle -  morellej@assembly.state.ny.us

 

 

Nassau County

Brian Curran  - curranb@assembly.state.ny.us

Earlene Hooper   - hoopere@assembly.state.ny.us

Edward Ra  - rae@assembly.state.ny.us

Michelle Schimel  -  SchimelM@assembly.state.ny.us

 

 

New York County (Manhattan)

Deborah Glick  - GlickD@assembly.state.ny.us

Micah Kellner  - KellnerM@assembly.state.ny.us

Guillermo Linares  - linaresg@assembly.state.ny.us

Daniel O'Donnell  - OdonnellD@assembly.state.ny.us

Robert Rodriguez  - rodriguezrj@assembly.state.ny.us

Kenneth Wright  - WrightK@assembly.state.ny.us

 

 

Niagara County

John Ceretto  - cerettoj@assembly.state.ny.us

Robin Schimminger -  SchimmR@assembly.state.ny.us

 

 

Oneida County

Claudia Tenney  - tenneyc@assembly.state.ny.us

 

 

Onondaga County

William Magnarelli  - MagnarW@assembly.state.ny.us

Samuel Roberts  - Robertss@assembly.state.ny.us

 

 

Ontario County

Sean Hanna  - hannas@assembly.state.ny.us

 

 

Orange County

Thomas Kirwan - Kirwant@assembly.state.ny.us

 

 

Oswego County 

Claudia Tenney  - tenneyc@assembly.state.ny.us

 

 

Putnam County

Steve Katz  - katzs@assembly.state.ny.us

 

 

Queens County

Jeffrion Aubry  - AubryJ@assembly.state.ny.us

Edward Braunstein -  braunsteine@assembly.state.ny.us

Barbara Clark  - ClarkB@assembly.state.ny.us

Michael DenDekker  - DenDekkerM@assembly.state.ny.us

Rory Lancman  - LancmanR@assembly.state.ny.us

Michael Miller  - MillerMG@assembly.state.ny.us

Francisco Moya  - Moyaf@assembly.state.ny.us

Catherine Nolan  - NolanC@assembly.state.ny.us

Aravella Simotas  - Simotasa@assembly.state.ny.us

Michele TItus  - TitusM@assembly.state.ny.us

David Weprin  - weprind@assembly.state.ny.us

 

 

Rockland County

Ellen Jaffee  - JaffeeE@assembly.state.ny.us

 

 

Saint Lawrence County

Ken Blankenbush  - blankenbushk@assembly.state.ny.us

Addie Russell  - RussellA@assembly.state.ny.us

 

 

Schuyler County

Christopher Friend  - friendc@assembly.state.ny.us

 

 

Steuben County

Philip Palmesano  - palmesanop@assembly.state.ny.us

 

 

Suffolk County

Steven Englebright EngleS@assembly.state.ny.us

Alfred Graf grafa@assembly.state.ny.us

Dan Losquardro losquadrod@assembly.state.ny.us

Dean Murray MurrayD@assembly.state.ny.us

 

 

Tioga County

Christopher Friend friendc@assembly.state.ny.us

 

 

Tompkins County

Barbara Lifton LiftonB@assembly.state.ny.us

 

 

Ulster County

Thomas Kirwan Kirwant@assembly.state.ny.us

 

 

Westchester County

Thomas Abinanti abinantit@assembly.state.ny.us

Steve Katz katzs@assembly.state.ny.us

 

 

Yates County

Philip Palmesano palmesanop@assembly.state.ny.us

 

 

 

 

 

 

Will you call?

Posted by Paige on April 26, 2011 at 4:56 PM Comments comments (0)

A lot has been happening with the CBRS bill. It passed the Senate Health committee and we hope to see it for a Floor vote soon.

 

Our focus now is on the Assembly.

 

We are looking for parents to make a few phone calls. We need to increase the number of sponsors on the bill. Last year we had 95 sponsors -- unheard of in Albany! Due to retirements and elections, we are down to 73 (out of 150). 

 

Contact me for more info and include your County.

 

Paige:  pmciufo@aol.com

Are You Ready???

Posted by Paige on February 10, 2011 at 8:00 PM Comments comments (2)

The bill has been introduced to the 2011 session.

 

The assembly bill A.3453 sponsored by Assm Dennis Gabryszak and senate bill S.3111 sponsored by Senator Bill Larkin. Both bills have been referred to their Health Committees.

It is time to send our emails to the members of Health!

 

Send an Email to the Assembly Health committee: 

 

Copy & Paste this message into a new email.

 

The Certificate of Birth Resulting in Stillbirth Bill A.3453 has been referred to the Health committee. Each year there are 1,700 stillbirths unacknowledged by the State. Support bill A.3453 that will give grieving families an official document.   

                                        -- NAME - CITY - PHONE


Copy & Paste the below addresses into the 'Send To' box:

GottfriedR@assembly.state.ny.us,

BingJ@assembly.state.ny.us,

CahillK@assembly.state.ny.us,

CastelliR@assembly.state.ny.us,

ConteJ@assembly.state.ny.us,

CymbroS@assembly.state.ny.us,

DinowiJ@assembly.state.ny.us,

GalefS@assembly.state.ny.us,

GuntheA@assembly.state.ny.us,

HevesiA@assembly.state.ny.us,

JacobsR@assembly.state.ny.us,

LavineC@assembly.state.ny.us,

MagnarW@assembly.state.ny.us,

MayersN@assembly.state.ny.us,

McDonoD@assembly.state.ny.us,

MillerJ@assembly.state.ny.us,

PaulinA@assembly.state.ny.us,

PeopleC@assembly.state.ny.us,

RiveraN@assembly.state.ny.us,

RosentL@assembly.state.ny.us,

SchimmR@assembly.state.ny.us,

TobaccoL@assembly.state.ny.us,

TownsD@assembly.state.ny.us

 

 

 

Send an Email to the Senate Health committee:

 

Copy & Paste this message into a new email.

 

The Certificate of Birth Resulting in Stillbirth Bill S.3111 has been referred to the Health committee. Each year there are 1,700 stillbirths unacknowledged by the State. Support bill S.3111 that will give grieving families an official document.     

                                        -- NAME - CITY - PHONE

 

Copy & Paste the below addresses into the 'Send To' box:

hannon@nysenate.gov,

eadams@senate.state.ny.us,

gball@nysenate.gov,

duane@senate.state.ny.us,

farley@senate.state.ny.us,

fuschill@senate.state.ny.us,

gianaris@nysenate.gov,

golden@senate.state.ny.us,

lkrueger@senate.state.ny.us,

larkin@senate.state.ny.us,

mcdonald@senate.state.ny.us,

montgome@senate.state.ny.us,

grivera@nysenate.gov,

seward@senate.state.ny.us,

masmith@senate.state.ny.us,

scousins@senate.state.ny.us,

cyoung@senate.state.ny.us

New Year ~ New Session

Posted by Paige on January 11, 2011 at 12:07 PM Comments comments (0)

The 2011 New York State legislative session has begun. We have resumed our fight for the passage of the Certificate of Birth Resulting in Stillbirth bill.

We lost many Assembly co-sponsors during the election in November; as well as some Senators. Some chose not to run and others lost their position -- one of them being our Assembly sponsor Janele Hyer-Spencer. As a junior member of the Assembly, she believed in our bill and fought against the one member of the Assembly who has repeatedly stopped our bill - Assm Helene Weinstein (Kings County).

While we search for a new Assm bill sponsor, we need your help.  Write or email your Assembly and Senate members. Some may be new and don't know about the bill.  The rest need to be reminded that we want this bill to pass.

Ask them to support the bill.  Ask them to be a cosponsor. Use the example letters as a guide. Let us know what they say. We will update the Assembly / Senate pages.

This bill won't pass without your help.


Rss_feed